The museum layout invites visitors to explore the different buildings making up La Devinière. The museum uses rare editions, vintage engravings and portraits (including one by Matisse) to present milestones in Rabelais’ life and shed light on his work and new Renaissance ideas.
The Rabelais Museum in 5 dates:
- 1948: Les Amis de Rabelais et de La Devinière Association was founded and Indre-et-Loire Council bought La Devinière.
- 1951: Inauguration following the house and dovecote barn’s restoration.
- 1980-1990: The Council bought and renovated the adjacent buildings.
- 2002: Approved as a Musée de France.
- 2011: Approved as a Maison des Illustres